Physics Cup 2017 - Problem 3. 29th April 2017

Consider a sparse electron gas at temperature $T=T_0$ in homogeneous magnetic field. Initially, the magnetic flux density is B_0 , and is increased up to $B=2B_0$; during the process, the growth rate of the B-field is kept very small, $\frac{dB}{dt} \ll \frac{B^2 e}{m}$, where e denotes the elementary charge, and m — the electron mass. Let us define the characteristic time τ of this process as the typical value of $\left(\frac{\text{dln}\,B}{\text{d}t}\right)^{-1}$; then, the above given condition can be rewritten as $\tau \gg \frac{m}{Be}$. The sparseness of the electron gas is described by the mean free path length λ of electrons, and by the mean time interval between collisions $t \approx \lambda \sqrt{\frac{m}{kT}}$. Here we assume that the gas is so sparse that $t \gg \tau$. Upon reaching the value $B=2B_0$, the B-field strength is kept constant for a very long time $\mathcal{T} \gg t$, and is later slowly decreased back to the original value $B=B_0$ (the characteristic time of the process is again τ). Now, if we wait until thermal equilibrium is reached, what will be the temperature T' of the electron gas?

Keep in mind that if a quantum-mechanical system is slowly (adiabatically) perturbed, it retains its quantum state if the characteristic time of the process is much longer than $\hbar/\Delta E$, where ΔE is the energy level difference between neighbouring states.

Hints: First, Notice that when the magnetic field is being changed, the kinetic energy of electrons associated with the motion along the field remains unchanged. Meanwhile, the kinetic energy of electrons associated with the motion perpendicularly to the field changeds, and the change can be found from the condition that the order number of its quantum-mechanical energy level remains constant.

Second, quantum mechanical energy levels can be found by applying quasi-classical approach to the cyclotron orbits of the electrons.

Results thus far (by the order of submission):

Siddharth Tiwary: 2.5937 Kaarel Hänni: 1.9099 Diogo Netto: 2.1436

Marco Malandrone: 1.7538

Non-official participants (by the order of submission):

Taavet Kalda: 2.3579

Results thus far (total for Pr 1 - Pr 3):

Siddharth Tiwary: 6.8809 Marco Malandrone: 6.7055

Diogo Netto: 5.3615 Kaarel Hänni: 4.5037 Akihiro Watanabe: 2.1436

Dylan Toh: 1.9487 Faizal Husni: 1.7716 Elene Kravishvili: 1.7716 Jacob Teo: 1.6105

Victor Almeida Ivo: 1.6105

Non-official participants (by the order of submission):

Taavet Kalda: 6.6451 Elvinas Ribinskas: 1.9487